Member Login

Arwyn Davies Award 2017

Well another year flies by and here we are again announcing the winner of the prestigious Arwyn Davies Award

Now as we have had a fair few new members over the past year or so I thought it might be a good time to just remind members what the award is all about

Arwyn Davies was a long standing member of the Club and a family man. Sadly he passed away in 1992 and was sorely missed by the Club Members. The committee at that time decided that it would be an honourable gesture to name an award after him. In deciding the type of award one thing became very clear.

Arwyn always played his league games no matter that on occasion things weren’t going quite as well as he might have hoped for on the court or even when he was carrying a ‘slight knock’. With this in mind the committee decided that the award should be given to the player who plays the most league games during the Club year; October 1st to September 30th. However; perhaps more importantly, in the event of a tie the award would be given to the player who gained the least number of game points over the year.

This was to reflect that someone has consistently played their games despite perhaps having some not so good results. This award credits the person who shows great commitment to both other players and the Club

To many members this is perhaps the ‘noblest’ award within the Club

As well as having a top three I should also mention that the following players all played at least 30 games last year so great effort by them.

They are:

Dave Cunningham, Simon Horwood, Sean Harper, Roger Brown, Martin Hall, Stuart Williams, Gary Wilson, Carlo Bella, Sean Harper and Elliot Lee (last year’s winner)

There was also a plethora of players who just missed the 30 mark and there is no doubt that more players are playing more league games which is to be applauded and will hopefully gradually help to improve our Squash

So the top 3 for the year 2016-2017 are as follows

1. Nick Mullis (£25 Credit) and name on the awards board!
2. Chris Putt; multiple winner, (£15 Credit)
3. Mark Goethe (£10 Credit)

Well done to Nick as a first time winner and for making Chris Putt find and clean the trophy before handing it back!

Good luck to everyone this year

Simon Horwood
Club Membership

News & Events

About this squash & tennis court reservation system

mycourts ® is a Registered Trademark of HBI Consulting Ltd
Copyright © 2005-2020 HBI Consulting Ltd